Home Sports Indy 500 Winners | All-time Race Winners, Records, And Victories

Indy 500 Winners | All-time Race Winners, Records, And Victories

Indy 500 Winners

Indy 500 Winners | All-time Race Winners, Records, And Victories: On Sunday, Helio Castroneves became only the fourth driver in history to win four Indianapolis 500s when he clocked a timing of 2:39:50.

Indy 500 Winners | All-time Race Winners, Records, And Victories

Indy 500 Winners

Final Strecth

In the final stretch, Castroneves passed Alex Palou and drenched himself with milk for the fourth time in a row for joining an elite group.

Indy 500 victories are presently shared by four drivers, as indicated in the following paragraphs. Fewer than 5 percent of all Indy 500 winners have won successive races in the 102-year history of this race.

Only 10 rookies have ever won the Indy 500, the most in the sport’s history, and twenty Indy 500 champions have won the race from pole position.

When it comes to the most wins in the Indianapolis 500, Scott McLaughlin’s No. 3 Penske Racing car has won the race 11 times.

Despite the fact that only 20 drivers have won the Indy 500 several times in the last 105 years, this event is exceedingly difficult to win.

List of Indy 500 victors, as well as some all-time Indy 500 records, are below.

Because The Winner Of The Indy 500 Drinks Milk

That’s all there is to it. A three-time Indy 500 winner recently tell the Sporting News that milk is a wonderful refreshment since it symbolises success after a long day of racing. His word is good enough for us.

Skimmed milk, 2 percent milk, and whole milk are all options for drivers these days. In the event of a victory, they have already made their selections.

Who Is The All-Time Leader In The Number Of Victories At The Indianapolis 500?

The most Indy 500 wins of all time are shared by four drivers.

Al Unser, Rick Mears, and Castrovenes are the only four drivers to have won the Indianapolis 500 four times apiece. It was a four-time Indy 500 winner for Jacques “Jeff” Foyt in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977.

Among his victories at the Indianapolis 500 were four straight in 1970, 1971, 1978, and 1987. In 1979, 1984, 1988, and 1991, Mears triumphed in the Indianapolis 500. On four occasions, from 2001 to 2002, Castrovenes came out on top.

In 1987, Unser became the oldest Indy 500 winner when he crossed the finish line at the age of 47, 360 days.

In addition, that victory earned Unser the record for the longest gap between Indy 500 triumphs – 17 years — in the history of the race.

He is one of just five drivers to win the Indianapolis 500 in consecutive years, with Wilbur Shaw (1939-40), Mauri Rose (1947-48), Bill Vukovich (1953-54) and Unser (2001-2002). (1970-71).

Also Read: